Connect with us

Gaming News

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

Published

on

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

First up on the freebie list was the first season of Batman: The Telltale Series with the 5 episodes. for those who don’t know Batman: The Telltale Series was released back in 2016 and is a episodic point-and-click graphic adventure game. The game includes action sequences that are resolved similar to Telltale’s other games, using quick time events.

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

In terms of the review scores and critics online the game is close to an average of 7.5/10 with the general issue being the combat and Quick time events but fans of the series would love how the game stays true to the Batman franchise.

I personally own the game and can testify that this is a really good game and as a fan of Telltale games this was certainly a great addition to their superb catalogue of games.

Next up and available for free in January 2018 is Deus Ex: Mankind Divided. Deus Ex: Mankind Divided is an action role-playing stealth video game and is a direct sequel to Deus Ex: Human Revolution. The game is in first-person perspective, with a third-person cover system, and combines elements of a first-person shooter, with a role-playing upgrade system and dialogue trees.

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

With regard the reviews the game averages a 8.5/10 which is very strong. An issue is the complex plot which might be difficult to get into but the gameplay and overall experience outweighs the negatives.

I actually own this game physically and Ill be honest I didn’t get around to finishing it as I did find it difficult to get into it. whilst the scores are high at the time when I played it, the game didn’t really appeal to me but I guess I will have to give it another try and at-least now I will have a digital version.

PlayStation 3 owners will be able to grab Sacred 3 which is basically a hack and slash brawler. There are a mix of opinions when coming to reviews with the game probably averaging a 5.5 out of 10. The simplistic levels may get boring after a couple of hours but that doesn’t stop the hack and slash being a great expeirnece.

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

To be honest I haven’t come across this game before so it is safe to say that this was never on my wish list. Whilst I enjoy hack and slash games this game won’t be the game to make me turn my ps3 back on so not even sure if I will add to my library

The Book of Unwritten Tales 2 will be another freebie for the PS3 owners in throughout January. This is basically a comedy point-and-click adventure game and averages a 7/10 on the reputable gaming review sites.
I doubt I will get a chance to play this game anytime soon but does seem interesting and with the comedy element attached to it gives me even more reason to at-least add it to the library

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

Available on PS VITA and also on the PS4 is uncanny valley which is a story driven survival horror game. in this game every choice has a consequence and will determine your fate in the game.
The game averages a 5 out of 10 with the online reviews and whilst seems interesting with the choices that determine the outcome I am not sure if I will waste much time testing this out even thought I can play it on my PS4

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

Also available to PS4 and PS VITA gamers is Psycho-Pass: Mandatory Happiness. This is a visual novel game based on the 2012 anime series Psycho-Pass. On average the game is scoring 7 out of 10 among the review sites and the issue seems to be that there is no animation at all and the two characters’ stories being a little too similar stop it from attracting non-genre fans. But the story of the game is apparently amazing.

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

Now I been eyeing this game up every time I see it appear in the PS Plus store so certainly happy to see this game included and will surely be added to my library

PS VR owners will be treated to Starblood Arena which is a futuristic flight combat shooting game. and scores on average a 7 out of 10. people are calling this the game to make you buy the VR for the PlayStation 4 as visually and characteristically is a awesome game.

PlayStation Plus January 2018 Official Full Lineup Review

I personally don’t own a PSVR still to this day so will miss out on this title but from some of the trailers and gameplay videos I seen it does look pretty cool

Overall I will say that this is possibly the first PS Plus lineup that has been very decent. I was shocked to see Dues EX Mankind divided as this as a game in my Xbox Games with Gold for January 2018 video I said should be included in either games with gold or ps plus and coincidentally the game made an appearance. Whilst I own and played Deus EX Mankind Divided and also the Batman Telltales Series those are pretty decent games for those who haven’t had a chance to grab them yet and also for me I am looking forward to playing Psycho Pass Mandatory Happiness. The other titles I am not eager to play but they still seem to be pretty decent for those who are into those specific genres. anyway peeps do let me know your thoughts of the PS Plus line up for January 2018 and what games you looking forward to adding to your library?

Comments

comments

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Gaming News

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Published

on

By

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

2019 has already had some awesome released, but even more, great games are on the way. Here are just a few of the games due out in the coming months that need to be on your radar.

Yoshi’s Crafted World

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Yoshi’s Wooly World was a fantastic game and this follow up looks to be taking things to the next level. The Yoshi series has always been about having fun and fun is what Yoshi’s Crafted World looks like. Hopefully, it will have as many collectibles as Wooly World did as I loved collecting all the different yarn Yoshi’s.

UPPERS

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

There are not enough beat em up style games in the style of things like Final Fight or even a Power Stone. UPPERS though is a game that is bringing the beat em up back. Full of kick-butt action, crazy combos and a ton of attitude! UPPERS is one of the more underrated games that is due out this year. Make sure you take a closer look at this one.

Tom Clancy’s The Division 2

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Full disclosure here I am not the biggest fan of The Division, but I know that a lot of people are super stoked for Tom Clancy’s The Division 2. This is If you loved the open world RPG style action of the first game, you are no doubt going to be all in with the sequel.

Devil May Cry 5

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

I thought that DMC was a great game…. Not joking I really did, but I did want something that would follow on from the excellent Devil May Cry 4. That is what Capcom is doing with Devil May Cry 5. The action looks slick and insane and that is exactly what you need in a Devil May Cry game.

Dead or Alive 6

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

The Dead or Alive series is pretty awesome and while the fighting game genre is getting pretty overcrowded these days. Dead or Alive 6 is doing more than enough to make it stand out from the crowd. Dead or Alive 6 features a whole new game engine. This makes the game smoother, faster…… and bouncier than ever before. Seriously this game is just pure eye candy! The way the fighters display damage as the fight goes on is really cool. You cannot go wrong with the Dead or Alive series and this game looks to breathe some new life into the franchise.

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Gaming News

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

Published

on

By

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

February 13th was the first “real” Nintendo Direct in what felt like ages. There were some great games shown and today I want to talk about a few that really caught my attention.

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

There was a rumor that a new 2D Zelda game was going to be shown at this Nintendo Direct and the one that was shown did not disappoint. This is a remake of the GameBoy game, Link’s Awakening which was the follow on from Link to the Past. The game looks like a million bucks and Link has a real chibi look to him. The gameplay looks to keep the classic overhead Zelda style and that is awesome!

Super Mario Maker 2

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

While it was not the 3D Super Mario Maker that I was hopeful for, Super Mario Maker 2 looks to be a lot of fun. There are loads more things that you can use this time around such as slopes, new enemies, power-ups and so on. They have also included a bunch of stuff from Mario 3D World so it will be interesting to see how that translates into a 2D Mario game. What is crazy is that Super Mario Maker 2 is coming in June!

Astral Chain

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

Of all the games that were shown at this Nintendo Direct, it was Astral Chain that really blew me away. This is an action packed 3rd person action hack and slash game from the people at Platinum Games. It looks fantastic and like it is going to be a whole lot of fun. It features mechs, monsters, a robot dog, crazy fast combat and just a whole lot of over the top action that makes it look like one of the most interesting Switch games for 2019.

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Gaming News

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Published

on

By

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Crackdown 3 was supposed to be the first huge Xbox One exclusive of the year. It was the game that was going to show Xbox One fans that Xbox still has some awesome exclusive games just like the other two consoles do.

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

In all honesty, a lot of people were very excited for Crackdown 3 and with good reason too. The trailers showcased a game that looked like it was a ton of fun and it even had Terry Crews in the trailer so that was awesome.

Now that the game is released though, many major gaming sites are not all that impressed. Over at both GameSpot and IGN, Crackdown 3 has been given the middle of the road average 5 out of 10 score. Both sites call the game underwhelming, rather boring and not all that great!

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

On Metacritic, you can see that the game (as I write this) is sitting at a rating of 60 from game review scores and at a 4.0 from player review scores. Clearly, Crackdown 3 is a game that is disappointing a lot of people out there. It is kind of like what happened with Sea of Thieves. It was billed at this huge exclusive game that was going to be awesome, but then when it was released it was very underwhelming.

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Perhaps it can be turned around and have more fun elements put into it like was done with Sea of Thieves. The problem with that is while for Sea of Thieves players that has been great many people simply lost interest in the game and I have a feeling that Crackdown 3 could end up being the same.

This console generation Sony has been nailing it with the exclusives and of course, so have Nintendo. You have to wonder why Microsoft has found it so hard to compete in this regard?

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Trending

Copyright © 2019 URBAN GAMEPLAY

Skip to toolbar