Connect with us

Gaming News

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

A full look at January 2018 Games with Gold Lineup for Xbox One and Xbox 360

Published

on

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

Its that time where we see whats the upcoming games for games with gold for the next month and Microsoft has revealed what free games will be free at the start of the year for January 2018.

January’s 2018 Games with Gold lineup for Xbox One starts with The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing III which will be available from the 1st of January 2018 all the way till the 31st. For those who dont know The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing is an action role-playing video game and based on the novel Dracula by Bram Stoker. The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing 3 focuses on the trials of young Van Helsing, son of the legendary vampire hunter Abraham Van Helsing from the book.

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

In terms of reviews the game seems to score a average 6/10 across the board with the general criticism being lack of content and various bugs but the characters are a charm and the overall pacing of the game is well executed. For me personally this doesn’t seem the game that will hold my attention for too long as whilst I do enjoy some action RPG’s this game might be a little bit too much for me to get into but nonetheless I will still add to my library

Available from the 16th if January 2018 all the way till the 15th of February will be Zombi

Zombi is basically a first-person survival horror game set in London, where you are a survivor of a zombie apocalypse. With various weapons at your disposal you can confront the zombies with firearms, land mines, and Molotov cocktails.

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

In terms of reviews Zombi seems to be scoring on average a 7/10 score with IGN rating as high as 7.5. The issue seems to be the retentive combat that you will experience and on the bright side the is great NPC’s to add the the atmosphere of the overall game.

Keeping it real I own this game 2 times already 1 on the Wii U and I also got it free with PS plus for the PS4 and I haven’t actually played the game properly. I played on the Wii U for a matter of minutes and on PS4 I haven’t even booted it up and whilst I will download it on the Xbox One swell I doubt I will have the emergency to play the game as it just never really appealed to me even though I will actually own it 3 times.

Available on the Xbox 360 and will be playable on the Xbox One, is Tomb Raider Underworld. The game will downloadable from the 1st of January up until the 15th of the month

Tomb Raider: Underworld is a 3rd person, single player, action-adventure game and is the eighth installment of the Tomb Raider series,

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

With regarding the reviews Tomb Raider Underworld seems to score a average score of 7 out of 10 across the board with the main issue being the frustrating in game camera and not the best story but the graphics and puzzles have been applauded.

I actually never got a chance to get this game before and has always been lingering on my wish list so pretty pleased that I will get a chance to experience this game on my Xbox One.

From the 16th of January to the 31st of Jan you will be able to grab Army of Two for both the Xbox One and Xbox 360

Army of two is basically a 3rd person shooter and Focuses on cooperative strategies, Army of Two’s main feature is the necessity to use coordinated teamwork to accomplish the game’s goals.

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

6.5 out of 10 seems to be the average review score with some scoring 7/10 and others scoring 6/10

The main issue seems to be the AI and also the short campaign but the graphics are well received and also the cooperative gameplay is a charm

This is another game like Tomb Raider underworld that has always been on my wish list and just never got around to owning so its a great little gem to add to my library. how long the novelty will last is yet to be seen but at-least this is another game that will be playable on my Xbox One that I never played in the past.

Xbox Games With Gold January 2018 Review

Overall I will say that I am not blown away by January 2018 games with gold as the offering is a little mediocre. The good thing is that most games on the list I haven’t had a chance to play so that is always nice but there wasn’t really anything in there that gave me the wow factor or the eagerness to play. I do respect the fact that we get AAA titles with games with gold but sometimes it would be nice to maybe see more modern games that might not have the best reviews but worth a play. to me games such as Homefront, Battleborn or even Dues EX should make an appearance on these list. they are by no means the best games every created but I just feel those are the type of games that I feel should pop up now and again from time to time

Comments

comments

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Gaming News

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Published

on

By

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

2019 has already had some awesome released, but even more, great games are on the way. Here are just a few of the games due out in the coming months that need to be on your radar.

Yoshi’s Crafted World

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Yoshi’s Wooly World was a fantastic game and this follow up looks to be taking things to the next level. The Yoshi series has always been about having fun and fun is what Yoshi’s Crafted World looks like. Hopefully, it will have as many collectibles as Wooly World did as I loved collecting all the different yarn Yoshi’s.

UPPERS

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

There are not enough beat em up style games in the style of things like Final Fight or even a Power Stone. UPPERS though is a game that is bringing the beat em up back. Full of kick-butt action, crazy combos and a ton of attitude! UPPERS is one of the more underrated games that is due out this year. Make sure you take a closer look at this one.

Tom Clancy’s The Division 2

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

Full disclosure here I am not the biggest fan of The Division, but I know that a lot of people are super stoked for Tom Clancy’s The Division 2. This is If you loved the open world RPG style action of the first game, you are no doubt going to be all in with the sequel.

Devil May Cry 5

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

I thought that DMC was a great game…. Not joking I really did, but I did want something that would follow on from the excellent Devil May Cry 4. That is what Capcom is doing with Devil May Cry 5. The action looks slick and insane and that is exactly what you need in a Devil May Cry game.

Dead or Alive 6

Top 5 Must Buy Games March 2019

The Dead or Alive series is pretty awesome and while the fighting game genre is getting pretty overcrowded these days. Dead or Alive 6 is doing more than enough to make it stand out from the crowd. Dead or Alive 6 features a whole new game engine. This makes the game smoother, faster…… and bouncier than ever before. Seriously this game is just pure eye candy! The way the fighters display damage as the fight goes on is really cool. You cannot go wrong with the Dead or Alive series and this game looks to breathe some new life into the franchise.

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Gaming News

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

Published

on

By

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

February 13th was the first “real” Nintendo Direct in what felt like ages. There were some great games shown and today I want to talk about a few that really caught my attention.

The Legend of Zelda: Links Awakening

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

There was a rumor that a new 2D Zelda game was going to be shown at this Nintendo Direct and the one that was shown did not disappoint. This is a remake of the GameBoy game, Link’s Awakening which was the follow on from Link to the Past. The game looks like a million bucks and Link has a real chibi look to him. The gameplay looks to keep the classic overhead Zelda style and that is awesome!

Super Mario Maker 2

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

While it was not the 3D Super Mario Maker that I was hopeful for, Super Mario Maker 2 looks to be a lot of fun. There are loads more things that you can use this time around such as slopes, new enemies, power-ups and so on. They have also included a bunch of stuff from Mario 3D World so it will be interesting to see how that translates into a 2D Mario game. What is crazy is that Super Mario Maker 2 is coming in June!

Astral Chain

Nintendo Directs Big Games!

Of all the games that were shown at this Nintendo Direct, it was Astral Chain that really blew me away. This is an action packed 3rd person action hack and slash game from the people at Platinum Games. It looks fantastic and like it is going to be a whole lot of fun. It features mechs, monsters, a robot dog, crazy fast combat and just a whole lot of over the top action that makes it look like one of the most interesting Switch games for 2019.

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Gaming News

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Published

on

By

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Crackdown 3 was supposed to be the first huge Xbox One exclusive of the year. It was the game that was going to show Xbox One fans that Xbox still has some awesome exclusive games just like the other two consoles do.

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

In all honesty, a lot of people were very excited for Crackdown 3 and with good reason too. The trailers showcased a game that looked like it was a ton of fun and it even had Terry Crews in the trailer so that was awesome.

Now that the game is released though, many major gaming sites are not all that impressed. Over at both GameSpot and IGN, Crackdown 3 has been given the middle of the road average 5 out of 10 score. Both sites call the game underwhelming, rather boring and not all that great!

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

On Metacritic, you can see that the game (as I write this) is sitting at a rating of 60 from game review scores and at a 4.0 from player review scores. Clearly, Crackdown 3 is a game that is disappointing a lot of people out there. It is kind of like what happened with Sea of Thieves. It was billed at this huge exclusive game that was going to be awesome, but then when it was released it was very underwhelming.

Crackdown 3 Is Not The Great Exclusive We Hoped For

Perhaps it can be turned around and have more fun elements put into it like was done with Sea of Thieves. The problem with that is while for Sea of Thieves players that has been great many people simply lost interest in the game and I have a feeling that Crackdown 3 could end up being the same.

This console generation Sony has been nailing it with the exclusives and of course, so have Nintendo. You have to wonder why Microsoft has found it so hard to compete in this regard?

Comments

comments

Continue Reading

Trending

Copyright © 2019 URBAN GAMEPLAY

Skip to toolbar